Announcement: Life Changing News (Again!)


My Lords, Ladies and Gentlemen. We have some news for you.

No, we are not getting married, having a baby, or adopting reams of children from third world countries, although that would be fun.

No – we are moving back to England, at least for the time being.

Basically, Alex has been offered a very good opportunity in London by his firm, and he simply can’t turn it down. We have discussed it ad nauseam and we have come to the conclusion that it is the best decision.

So, to summarise:

–          We will be leaving Singapore in one week’s time, and spending two weeks in Phuket before going back to London;

–          We will be back in England for an unspecified period of time.

Clearly, dear readers, you will understand that my blog cannot continue in its current form (I shan’t be English Girl In Asia any more, except when we are in Phuket!)

However, over the past few months I have grown to love writing this blog. I think it is because Alex has always steadfastly refused to buy me a cat, and blogging is clearly my cat-displacement therapy.

Therefore, I propose to continue this blog, at least for the time being. I shall blog about our remaining time in Asia; about our move back to London; about settling back in to life as a non-Expat.

If you all get bored and stop reading, my trusty little site stats will tell me, and I will simply stop writing.

Thank you for all the lovely emails and messages I have received in the course of writing English Girl In Asia – not just from family and friends, but from very nice strangers, too. I really appreciate it, and if any of you ever need any help or advice on moving to Singapore, I’m your lady. I will only charge you $100.00 an hour (that was a joke).

I am now going to leave you to go and look at all my stuff that needs to be packed back up and sent back to England, and try not to have a hissy fit.

Lots of love,

A rather exasperated Jessy xxxxxxxxxx

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Announcement: Life Changing News (Again!)

  1. Kat

    A) http://www.shmoop.com/news/2010/09/21/famous-quotes-translated-lolcat/

    B) I don’t know what your overseas readers think, but I for one would consider it a HUGE loss not to have your MS Word masterpieces hitting my eyes every week. Jolly well done. xxx

  2. Jana

    I never met you in person but was happy to have you here in Singapore. I am actually a bit sad to hear that you are leaving these shores. Our assignment ends in September of this year and we have to return to the US, against our will I might add.
    Please keep writing if your time allows it, I will definately “follow “you to England.
    Good Luck!

    P.S. Are you a bit sad for leaving Asia or is the joy of returning to England greater? Just curious.

    Jana

    • Hi Jana! Thanks for your really sweet comments. I am so glad that you have enjoyed reading the blog and I am sorry to hear that you have to return to the US unwillingly. I will certainly keep writing.

      To answer your question, a bit of both – I am very sad to be leaving Asia, but it won’t be a permanant move I shouldn’t think, and I am very excited to get back to London for primarily three reasons; plentiful cheese, Borough Market and my friends and family.

      Really hope your move goes well and don’t worry, everything will turn out ok. Best of British luck!

      Jessy x

  3. Ali Pickersgill

    Jessy…who’s going to look after Benjy for me….he will miss you both so much. Enjoy the time you have in Eastworth and look forward to seeing you in Emsworth. XXXXXXXX

  4. Ali Pickersgill

    Jessy…who’s going to look after Benjy for me…he will miss you both so much. Hope leaving Eastworth goes well and look forward to seeing you in sunny Emsworth. Love to you both. XXX

  5. Ali Pickersgill

    Don’t know what happened there!!!!!!!!!!

    • Ali you are so funny! He will be ok I promise – all the girls are going to check in on him if they are in Phuket to make sure he is ok, and with Stu guiding him like a wise old barn owl he will be just fine. Look forward to seeing you in Emsworth for some English sunshine – woohoo! Lots of love xxx

  6. wendy

    Hi guys, we loved reading your stories and for time being we definitely going to miss them. But we are very glad that Alex got such a good oppertunity. Good luck, with settling back into your old life,but first enjoy your tropical holiday in Phuket. Hugs Frank and Wendy

    • Thank you guys! That’s so sweet. You can still read our stories – they will just be taking place in Europe for the time being! (less fun, I know, but c’est la vie). Hope you are both well and happy – maybe we can catch up this summer now we will both be in Europe? xxx

Leave a Reply

